top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Anne

Marlin Monroe



No I didn't spell that wrong. Marlin like the fish, Monroe like the woman


I created this work last year in my Level 3 sculpture class where I made a series of work that makes its viewer think thoroughly about the the ideology of 'the perfect woman' and the expectations and assumptions that surround girls and women in our culture since before we were in loincloths. The work is special and stands out from other works that gravitate around the same idea because of its use of raw fish as a visual representation of the 'the perfect woman'. The image of the perfect woman is big smiles and making dinner for the family, I found that even when people think of the persona with distaste, this is still the image that comes to mind of her looking as happy and ignorant as can be. My work is a physical signifier of how I feel towards these unrealistic expectations with my viewers reaction to the raw fish the same as my reaction to this ideology.


I think this may be one of -if not the - best work I have ever produced. It turned out so much better than I could have imagined and I am so proud of it. It even got offered a place in NZQA's Top Art Exhibition which tours the country with New Zealand's top 60 portfolios in a year (it's unfortunately on hold due to COVID19).


I found that through this work I developed a style which I love and want to continue pursuing with my current and future works. I also found that I am passionate about something when it is addressing something I can relate to and something I feel, making things which portray emotive experiences is so much more impacting than words because the person viewing it gets an immersive experience in it too.






No Known Author. (2020). 'Top Art Exhibition'. NZQA. https://www.nzqa.govt.nz/ncea/subjects/visual-arts/top-art-exhibition/



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Canon. bullseye.

Canon has really hit the mark, their camera's are at the head of the game. They develop beautiful and well functioning cameras for anyone and everyone whether it be for someone who has never used a DS

Development Through Interviewing.

The process of designing is long and tedious and when you're just about done with the tedious part you do it again. From what I've found in my short half semester of designing is that every bump that

bottom of page